Building Boats

New wooden boats – Old style!

Finishing the Decks

Leave a comment

Just a quick update on deck progress, I had been backward and forward a lot with this one over the winter months (the ones when my workshop wasn’t completely frozen that is). As in my blog in October I started sheathing the decks with epoxy and plain weave glass, I soon decided however that this was going to compromise the look of the decks too much as is seemed to take away the natural look of the wood. Whilst the glass was almost completely clear there were areas where you could catch a bit of the weave especially in certain lights and I feared this would only get worse. I usually find that as you build the gloss levels you can unearth all sorts of horrors that didn’t previously seem to be there and so … It all had to come off :s

Out came the heat gun and scraper and I decided to strip it back, nearly to bare wood and start again.
The final verdict finish consisted of two coats of West System Epoxy followed by 5 coats of Jotun AS Clear, I flatted the epoxy off before applying the AS Clear.

20130517-134543.jpg
20130828-104506.jpg

Here was the final result anyway, all 5 coats of AS clear were sprayed and the final coat was flatted and polished.

20130828-105301.jpg
20130828-105350.jpg
Thanks for reading, I’ve been making some more additions to the boat recently including making a wooden steering wheel so hopefully I’ll be posting some more soon.

Author: waterbuoy

I'll have a go at making pretty much anything out of wood but really it's got to be boats for me, I love the wooden classics!

Leave a comment